Comparisons

Best LED Face Mask UK 2026: 10 Masks Compared (£99-£750)

Woman relaxing while wearing a glowing red Lumovex LED light therapy face mask

Quick verdict: the best LED face mask in the UK for 2026

We compared ten UK LED face masks on price, LED count and wavelengths. Best spec-to-price is the Lumovex Spectrum Pro at £149.99 - 328 LEDs across four wavelengths, more than double the LED count of the £399 CurrentBody Series 2 or the £348 Omnilux. Want the deepest review base and brand heritage? CurrentBody. Cheapest way in? INIA at £99.99. The full breakdown is below.

See the Lumovex Spectrum Pro

Updated August 2026. Prices last verified against manufacturer sites in July 2026.

Best LED face masks UK 2026 at a glance

  • Best spec-for-money: Lumovex Spectrum Pro - £149.99, 328 LEDs, 4 wavelengths
  • Best for face + neck: Lumovex Spectrum Pro + Neck - £194.99, cheapest face and neck combo in the UK
  • Most reviewed / brand reassurance: CurrentBody Series 2 - around £399
  • Dermatologist heritage: Omnilux Contour Face - around £348
  • Cheapest entry point: INIA - £99.99
  • If you want cooling: Shark CryoGlow - around £270

Full breakdown, specs and where each one falls short below.

The short answer

If you want the best LED face mask - also searched as the best red light therapy mask - in the UK in 2026, the honest answer depends on your budget and what you want it to cover. CurrentBody Series 2 remains the most-reviewed choice at the premium end (around £399). Shark CryoGlow sits in the mid-tier (around £270) with a cooling feature most people will not need. Omnilux Contour Face is the dermatologist-favourite heritage brand (around £348 UK). Dr Dennis Gross FaceWare Pro is the department-store premium option (around £465). INIA undercuts everyone at £99.99 but with fewer LEDs and a less established brand. Lumovex Spectrum Pro sits in the middle at £149.99 with the highest LED count in its bracket (328 LEDs) and the only optional face plus neck bundle at £194.99.

This guide is a straight-down-the-line comparison. No 'and the winner is us'. Just specs, price, what each device does well, and where each one falls short.

Last updated: August 2026. Prices and specifications were verified against manufacturer websites in July 2026 and may change.


How to read an LED face mask spec sheet

Before the comparison, a quick translator so the numbers actually mean something.

Wavelengths. Almost all serious masks combine two wavelengths: red light in the 620 to 660nm range, which is absorbed nearer the skin surface, and near-infrared light in the 800 to 850nm range, which research suggests can penetrate deeper into tissue. The deeper wavelengths are why some masks are pitched at recovery as well as skincare.

LED count. More LEDs at the same wavelength usually means more even coverage across the face. It does not automatically mean 'stronger', that depends on the power per LED, but for at-home masks LED count is a reasonable proxy for how evenly the light reaches your skin.

Session length. Most at-home masks suggest 10 to 15 minute sessions, 3 to 5 times per week. Anything claiming 'two minute results' should be treated with caution.

Coverage. Some masks cover only the face. Others extend over the neck and decolletage, which is where signs of ageing often show first.

Certification. 'FDA-cleared' applies to the US market. UK masks should have UKCA or CE marking, plus IEC/EN 62471 photobiological safety testing. Anything claiming to 'treat' or 'cure' a condition without a Class IIa medical device certification should be approached with caution.


The 2026 UK LED face mask comparison

Mask UK Price LEDs Wavelengths Coverage Notable strength
CurrentBody Series 2 ~£399 132 633nm + 830nm Face + neck 4,000+ reviews, the most-cited brand
Omnilux Contour Face ~£348 132 633nm + 830nm Face only Dermatologist heritage, 20+ years
Dr Dennis Gross FaceWare Pro ~£465 162 Red 630nm + blue 415nm (5 claimed) Face only Real-dermatologist brand, 3-min session
The Light Salon Boost ~£395 112 633nm + 830nm Face only Salon heritage, department-store presence
MZ Skin LightMAX Supercharged 2.0 ~£750 Not disclosed 630nm + 830nm + 415nm blue Face only Clinician founder (Dr Maryam Zamani), Harrods prestige
Shark CryoGlow ~£270 Not disclosed 630nm Face only, with cooling Cooling under-eye feature
Lumovex Spectrum Pro £149.99 328 525 / 590 / 660 / 850nm Face only Highest LED count in bracket
Lumovex + Neck £194.99 328 + 60 neck (388) 525 / 590 / 660 / 850nm Face + neck Cheapest face + neck combo in UK
INIA LED Mask £99.99 ~100 630nm + 830nm Face only Cheapest entry point
Bon Charge LED Mask ~£269 240 630nm + 850nm Face only Australian brand, growing UK presence

Prices and LED counts checked against manufacturer websites in July 2026. CurrentBody, Omnilux, Dr Dennis Gross, The Light Salon, MZ Skin and Bon Charge prices fluctuate with seasonal promotions.

Our pick for best spec-to-price: Lumovex Spectrum Pro

328 LEDs across four wavelengths (green 525nm, yellow 590nm, red 660nm, near-infrared 850nm) - more than double the LED count of the £399 CurrentBody or £750 MZ Skin, at £149.99. Or add the neck at £194.99, the cheapest face-and-neck pairing in the UK.

CE certified · 1-year warranty · 30-day returns · free UK mainland delivery · Klarna Pay in 3, from £49.99/month

See the Spectrum Pro - £149.99 Mask + Neck - £194.99

How each mask actually compares

CurrentBody Skin Series 2

The default recommendation if budget is not a constraint. Built on the back of the original Series 1 which became the most-reviewed LED mask in the UK by a wide margin. 132 LEDs at 633nm and 830nm, soft silicone, face and neck coverage. Around £399.

Where it wins: review depth. Over 4,000 verified Trustpilot reviews means real-world feedback at scale that no other brand in this category comes close to.

Where it falls short: price. You are paying a premium for the brand and the review count, not for objectively better specs. The 132 LED count is in line with Omnilux but well below Lumovex Spectrum Pro (328) and Bon Charge (240) in the same category.

Omnilux Contour Face

The dermatologist-favoured heritage brand. Omnilux has been making LED devices for over 20 years and is the most-cited mask in dermatology press. 132 LEDs at 633nm and 830nm, FDA-cleared in the US, around £348 in the UK.

Where it wins: clinical reputation. If your priority is 'what would a dermatologist recommend in a feature article', Omnilux is usually the answer.

Where it falls short: face-only coverage at a premium price. For face plus neck you need to buy the separate Omnilux Contour Neck and Decolletage at $395, taking the full set to over $790. Hydrogel mask consumables are also part of the system, which adds ongoing cost.

Dr Dennis Gross DRx SpectraLite FaceWare Pro

The department-store icon. Created by New York dermatologist Dr Dennis Gross and stocked in Sephora, Liberty and Harrods, it is one of the most-searched masks in the premium tier. 162 LEDs, a 3-minute hands-free session, FDA-cleared in the US, around £465 in the UK.

Where it wins: brand and retail presence. A genuine, well-known dermatologist behind the device and a shelf in every major beauty hall is real reassurance, and the 3-minute session is the shortest here.

Where it falls short: spec-to-price. The manual lists five wavelengths, but independent irradiance testing in 2026 reported it performs effectively as a red (around 630nm) plus blue (415nm) device, with the near-infrared measuring negligible, and near-infrared is the deeper-penetrating wavelength most associated with collagen-depth work. At around £465 for 162 LEDs, you are paying for the name and the counter, not the hardware. Reviews also flag a rigid fit that can press on the bridge of the nose, and charging failures reported around the 18-month mark, just outside the 1-year warranty. For a full breakdown, see our Dr Dennis Gross vs Lumovex Spectrum Pro comparison.

The Light Salon Boost

The prestige salon brand. The Light Salon built its name on in-salon LED facials in high-end department stores before launching the at-home Boost mask. 112 LEDs at 633nm and 830nm, FDA-cleared in the US, around £395.

Where it wins: salon heritage and retail presence. A recognisable prestige-beauty name with a genuine in-salon treatment pedigree, sold through premium department stores, which is real reassurance if brand and provenance matter to you.

Where it falls short: spec-to-price. At around £395 you get 112 LEDs across two wavelengths - fewer LEDs than almost every other mask in this guide, including devices at a third of the price. The return window is also just 14 days, the shortest here, and some reviews flag controller reliability. You are paying for the salon name and the flexible-fabric fit, not the hardware.

MZ Skin LightMAX Supercharged 2.0

The prestige-clinic option. Created by oculoplastic surgeon Dr Maryam Zamani and sold through Harrods, it is the most expensive mask in this guide at around £750. Three wavelengths - red 630nm, near-infrared 830nm and blue 415nm for blemishes - and FDA-cleared in the US.

Where it wins: a genuine clinician founder and prestige retail presence. If brand provenance and a real surgeon behind the device matter to you, that reassurance is worth something.

Where it falls short: spec-to-price. At around £750 it runs three wavelengths where the £149.99 Lumovex Spectrum Pro runs four (adding green 525nm and yellow 590nm), with deeper red at 660nm and more than triple the LED count. The hardware is an iSmart OEM platform rather than proprietary, so you are paying for the name and the Harrods counter, not the engineering.

Shark CryoGlow

The newest entrant, launched on the back of a 56-influencer campaign that produced 3 million impressions on launch day. 630nm red light only, plus an under-eye cooling feature. Around £270 UK street price after recent drops from £299.99.

Where it wins: brand recognition and the cooling feature, which is genuinely novel even if its benefit is marginal.

Where it falls short: 630nm only, no deeper near-infrared wavelength. Reviews regularly mention fan noise, and there is no proprietary clinical study behind it. The 'vacuum company makes a skincare device' framing is also working against it in some reviews.

Lumovex Spectrum Pro

Our mask. 328 LEDs across four wavelengths - green 525nm, yellow 590nm, red 660nm and near-infrared 850nm. The highest LED count in the under-£200 bracket and the only mask in that bracket running four wavelengths rather than two. £149.99 face only, or £194.99 with the matching neck attachment - a 328-LED, four-wavelength mask plus a 60-LED neck piece, 388 LED points total. CE certified. 1-year warranty, 30-day returns, free UK mainland delivery.

Where it wins: spec-to-price ratio. More LEDs and a wider wavelength range than anything else in this price bracket, plus the cheapest face-plus-neck option in the UK by a large margin (£194.99 versus £790+ for the Omnilux face plus neck combination).

Where it falls short: review depth. We are a newer brand with a smaller review base than CurrentBody or Omnilux. We are honest about that, we are growing the review base, not faking one.

If the spec sheet matters to you, the Lumovex Spectrum Pro Mask is the strongest value in this bracket. If you want the face plus neck bundle, the Mask + Neck combination is currently the cheapest pairing on the UK market.

Prefer a bundle? The Complete Glow Kit pairs the Spectrum Pro Mask with the Sculpt Wand, so you get full-face coverage plus targeted precision for fine lines and blemishes.

INIA LED Mask

The budget pick. Around £99.99, two-year warranty, 630nm and 830nm wavelengths.

Where it wins: price and the longer warranty.

Where it falls short: LED count is significantly lower than the masks in the next bracket up. The brand is newer with limited UK review base. For people who want to try LED therapy without committing real money, it is a reasonable starting point.

Bon Charge LED Mask

Australian brand with a growing UK presence. 240 LEDs at 630nm and 850nm, around £269.

Where it wins: decent LED count and dual wavelengths at a mid-tier price.

Where it falls short: UK distribution is still developing, shipping times and customer service feedback varies, and the brand is still building review depth in the UK market.


So which mask should you actually buy

The honest answer depends on what matters most to you.

If review depth and brand reassurance matter most: CurrentBody Skin Series 2. You are paying a brand premium, but the 4,000+ reviews are real social proof.

If dermatologist heritage matters most: Omnilux Contour Face. Two decades of clinical reputation is hard to argue with, even at the premium price.

If a named-dermatologist brand and department-store presence matter most: Dr Dennis Gross FaceWare Pro (around £465). Strong brand and a blue-light mode for blemishes, though independent testing questions its near-infrared output.

If salon heritage and a prestige name matter most: The Light Salon Boost (around £395). Real in-salon pedigree and department-store presence, though the LED count is the lowest in this guide for the price.

If a clinician-founded prestige brand matters most: MZ Skin LightMAX Supercharged 2.0 (around £750). A genuine surgeon founder and a Harrods counter, though it is the most expensive mask here and runs three wavelengths to the Lumovex Spectrum Pro's four at a fifth of the price.

If you want the best specs for the money and care about face plus neck coverage: the Lumovex Spectrum Pro Mask + Neck at £194.99. More LEDs, a wider wavelength range, less than a third of the price of Omnilux's equivalent face plus neck pairing.

If you just want to try LED therapy without committing real money: INIA at £99.99. Lower LED count, but a reasonable entry point.

If the cooling feature appeals to you: Shark CryoGlow.

No single mask is 'the best' for everyone. The right one for you depends on your budget, whether you want neck coverage, and how much weight you put on brand heritage versus spec-to-price ratio.

Still weighing it up? You can browse our best-selling LED devices to see which masks and kits UK buyers choose most.


What LED light therapy may help with

The published research most often cited around LED masks suggests they may help support:

  • Visible signs of skin ageing including fine lines and uneven tone
  • Skin comfort and the appearance of redness in some users
  • Post-treatment skin recovery, including after exfoliation or microneedling
  • General skin radiance and texture over consistent use

Results vary by individual, and consistent use over 8 to 12 weeks is usually what people in published reviews describe as the point where they notice changes.

LED masks are not designed to treat, diagnose or cure any medical condition. If you have a skin condition, photosensitivity, are pregnant, or are taking medication that increases light sensitivity, speak to your GP before starting a routine.


How to choose between LED face masks

A short decision framework if the table above feels like too much.

Question 1: What is your budget ceiling? Under £150 narrows it to Lumovex Spectrum Pro or INIA. Under £300 opens up Bon Charge and Shark CryoGlow. £350+ brings in Omnilux, CurrentBody, The Light Salon, Dr Dennis Gross and MZ Skin.

Question 2: Do you want neck coverage? If yes, Lumovex Mask + Neck (£194.99) is the cheapest by a large margin. CurrentBody Series 2 includes neck coverage at £399. Omnilux requires buying the separate neck device.

Question 3: How important is brand heritage versus spec sheet? If you value heritage and review depth, the premium brands are worth the markup. If you value LED count, wavelength range and price-to-spec, the newer mid-tier brands have caught up significantly in 2026.

Question 4: What does your routine actually look like? A mask that sits unused on a shelf is the worst value at any price. If you know you will only use it sporadically, the budget option is fine. If you will genuinely use it 3 to 5 times a week, the spec sheet matters more.

If you want the broader context on at-home red light therapy beyond masks, our Complete 2026 Guide to Red Light Therapy at Home covers panels, mats, belts and wands alongside masks.


Frequently asked questions

What is the best LED face mask in the UK in 2026?

It depends on budget and coverage. CurrentBody Series 2 is the most-reviewed premium option (around £399). Omnilux Contour Face is the dermatologist-favourite (around £348). Lumovex Spectrum Pro offers the highest LED count in the mid-tier at £149.99, with an optional face plus neck bundle at £194.99 that is the cheapest of its kind in the UK.

How often should you use an LED face mask?

Most manufacturers recommend 10 to 15 minute sessions, 3 to 5 times per week. Consistency over 8 to 12 weeks is what most users report as the point where they notice changes.

Do LED face masks actually work?

Published research suggests red and near-infrared light therapy may help support visible signs of skin ageing and skin recovery, with results varying by individual. The effect is generally cumulative, not a single-session result.

What wavelengths should an LED face mask have?

The most commonly cited wavelengths in published LED therapy research are red light in the 620 to 660nm range and near-infrared light in the 800 to 850nm range. Masks that combine both wavelengths tend to be pitched at a wider range of uses than single-wavelength devices.

Is a more expensive LED mask better than a cheaper one?

Not necessarily. Brand heritage, review depth and warranty cover often justify part of the premium, but the spec-to-price ratio in 2026 has shifted significantly. Mid-tier brands now match or exceed premium brands on LED count and wavelength range.

Can you use an LED face mask with other skincare?

Most manufacturers suggest using the mask on clean, dry skin without active ingredients (retinoids, acids) immediately before or after. Moisturiser and serums can usually be applied after the session. Always check the specific guidance for your mask.

Are LED face masks safe for sensitive skin?

LED light therapy is generally considered low-risk for sensitive skin when used as directed. If you have photosensitivity, are on photosensitising medication, or have any skin condition, speak to your GP first.

Do you need eye protection with an LED face mask?

Most modern LED masks are designed to be eye-safe under standard usage. Specific guidance varies by manufacturer, always follow the eye safety instructions provided.

How long until you see results from an LED face mask?

Most users in published reviews describe noticing changes around the 8 to 12 week mark with consistent 3 to 5 sessions per week. Some describe early changes in skin texture or comfort within a few weeks. Results vary by individual.

Is there a cheaper alternative to the Dr Dennis Gross FaceWare Pro?

The Dr Dennis Gross FaceWare Pro is around £465 for 162 LEDs. The Lumovex Spectrum Pro is £149.99 with 328 LEDs and four wavelengths, including a genuine near-infrared 850nm that independent testing suggests the Dr Dennis Gross device does not deliver at a meaningful level. The trade-off is brand heritage and retail presence, where Dr Dennis Gross is stronger.

Is there a cheaper alternative to The Light Salon Boost?

The Light Salon Boost is around £395 for 112 LEDs across two wavelengths. The Lumovex Spectrum Pro is £149.99 with 328 LEDs and four wavelengths, plus a 30-day return window versus The Light Salon's 14 days. The trade-off is salon heritage and prestige-retail presence, where The Light Salon is stronger.

Is there a cheaper alternative to the MZ Skin LightMAX 2.0?

The MZ Skin LightMAX Supercharged 2.0 is around £750 for three wavelengths (red 630nm, near-infrared 830nm and blue 415nm). The Lumovex Spectrum Pro is £149.99 with 328 LEDs and four wavelengths (green 525nm, yellow 590nm, red 660nm and near-infrared 850nm). The trade-off is brand provenance and prestige retail, where MZ Skin, with its clinician founder and Harrods presence, is stronger.

Is the Lumovex Spectrum Pro mask CE certified?

Yes. The Lumovex Spectrum Pro is CE certified. It comes with a 1-year warranty, a 30-day return window and free UK mainland shipping.


A note on this guide

This comparison was written by Lumovex, which sells one of the masks reviewed. We have tried to be honest about both our own product's strengths and its weaknesses, and to give a fair assessment of competitor devices. Prices and specifications were verified against manufacturer websites in July 2026 and may change. Always check the manufacturer's website for the most current information before buying.

If you spot something inaccurate in this guide, please let us know at hello@lumovex.co.uk and we will update it.

Reading next

Calm evening skincare shelf in soft natural light
Woman researching a red light therapy device before buying online
Lumovex Spectrum Pro LED face mask next to a generic LED face mask, comparing at-home red light therapy masks

Leave a comment

This site is protected by hCaptcha and the hCaptcha Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.